Instagram

How to know if someone blocked you on Instagram

Have you ever wondered how to find out if someone has blocked you on Instagram? Blocking certain people is an essential privacy tool, but if you've been blocked you might be searching for the reason.

It's possible that the friend you're attempting to contact deactivated or removed their account.

On the other hand, someone may annoy you with their comments or have been tagging you in a slew of unrelated posts. Furthermore, if you've been the victim of cyber-bullying, you may want to block those people on Instagram.

What happens when you block someone on Instagram?

When you block someone on Instagram, they won't be able to view or search your profile, posts, or stories. When you block someone, they do not receive a notification. If someone you've blocked on Instagram mentions you, it will show nothing about that person in your activity.

The following things happen when you block someone on Instagram:

  • The blocked user will not get a notification that you have blocked them.

  • The user you blocked will no longer be a follower on Instagram.

  • Notifications from that individual get deleted from your Instagram profile.

  • All the blocked profile's likes and prior comments on your posts will be removed.

  • You can still find their account by searching for their username. But, after you've blocked that individual, you won't be able to see their posts. "Unblock" will appear in place of "Follow", with "No Posts Yet" appearing underneath it.

  • After blocking someone, you won't be able to like or comment on their images, videos, or content. When an account gets blocked, all of the user's posts are hidden.

  • All the notifications they've received from you get deleted from their profile.

  • It is no longer possible to send Instagram Direct Messages to a blocked user. The earlier conversations will remain for both parties.

  • In the Direct Message thread, you or the blocked person will not view the last active timings.

If you do not want to block anyone, you can simply block them from commenting on your videos or photos. Alternatively, you can remove them as your follower on Instagram.

How to find out who blocked you on Instagram?

Want to know the different steps to find out whether somebody has blocked you on Instagram? Here is how you can tell:

Search for their username

Search for their username in the Instagram App

If someone has blocked you on Instagram, you will not see their username. Also, you cannot see their Instagram handle in the Instagram search box.

If you're not blocked, you'll be able to see their profile and all their posts. You'll notice "This Account is Private" if they've changed their account from public to private. If you're a follower, you will still be able to see all of their posts, even if the user changes their privacy settings.

If the profile does not come up in a search, the individual has either deleted or blocked you on Instagram. You can also use your phone to check.

But, keep in mind that Instagram users can update their usernames. As a result, it's possible that the person you're looking for changed their username. You can search through your friends list to find them, then type the correct name in the search bar.

Searching through your profile

You won't be able to comment on the person's post or send them a direct message if you've been blocked. Your past comments and chats, on the other hand, do not disappear. So, if you recall leaving a comment on one of their stories or exchanging DMs with them, open it up and visit their profile.

If the profile shows up with the message "No recent posts", then you have been blocked.

Using the Instagram Unique Profile Link

You can search for the profile via a search engine. Your Instagram account has a unique URL. Replace your username with the person's username you are searching for in the URL and hit enter. If the person has changed their username or blocked your account, you might see this error message, "Sorry, this page isn't available". However, you can try searching with the same URL using the incognito mode. If the profile page appears, then you can assume that they have blocked you.

Check from another Instagram Account

To see whether someone has blocked you on Instagram, browse their profile through another Instagram account. If you come across their profile with their posts, it implies your account has been blocked.

Summary

You can use these different ways to tell if someone blocked you. Checking your follower list is the easiest way to find out if you've been blocked. Use these tips to check who has blocked you on Instagram using a web browser, another account, or your phone. Lastly, they may have deactivated or deleted their account.