Tumblr

How to delete your Tumblr account?

If you are facing privacy, or any other, issues on Tumblr, you may be compelled to delete your Tumblr account.

To delete the Tumblr account, go to the settings area. Your principal Tumblr blog is also deleted when you delete your account. Secondary blogs in which you are the sole contributor are also removed. Tumblr also deletes your account from any group blogs that you are a part of. You can delete your account in the settings area. Be advised, your principal Tumblr blog, secondary blogs in which you are the sole contributor, and any group blogs will also be removed when you delete your Tumblr account.

Here's how to delete your Tumblr account or blog

With a Tumblr account, you'll have your primary blog to submit content and follow other people's blogs.

After you've created your primary blog, you may create secondary blogs. You can use these to create private membership groups and limit who you share content with. All blogs are linked to the Tumblr account that was used to create them.

You can either remove your Tumblr account entirely or delete each of your secondary blogs separately.

To delete your Tumblr account, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Account Menu after logging in.

    Log in to your Tumblr account and go to the top-right corner of the screen to the Account icon (the person shaped icon).

    Deleting your Tumblr Account (Step 1): Login and click on the account icon

  2. Go to the Settings Menu.

    To access your account's settings screen, select "Settings" from the Account drop-down menu.

    Deleting your Tumblr Account (Step 2): Go the "Settings" via the menu

  3. Press the "Delete" key.

    To delete your Tumblr account, scroll to the bottom of the Settings screen and click on the "Delete Account"-button.

    Deleting your Tumblr Account (Step 3): Scroll down and click the "Delete Account"-button

Deleting a Secondary Blog

Follow these steps to delete one of your Tumblr secondary blogs via the browser:

  1. Select "Settings" from the dashboard menu after logging into your Tumblr account.

    Tumblr deleting a secondary blog (Step 1): Select "Settings" from the dashboard

  2. Choose the blog you want to delete from the drop-down menu.

    Tumblr deleting a secondary blog (Step 2): Select the blog to delete

  3. At the bottom of the screen, select "Delete Blog".

    Tumblr deleting a secondary blog (Step 3): Select "Delete Blog"

Your Tumblr blog has been removed, but your account, including any messages, likes, themes, and posts, will remain. You can use Tumblr as usual.

How to delete your Tumblr account or blog from mobile?

The Tumblr application does not allow you to remove your Tumblr account permanently. However, you can delete any secondary blogs using the Tumblr app.

Follow these steps to delete one of your Tumblr secondary blogs:

On the app for your smartphone:

  1. Log in to your Tumblr account and select the Account icon

    Delete your Tumblr account from your mobile phone (Step 1): Login and go to the account page

  2. Choose the blog (at the top left corner of the screen) you want to delete from your listing of blogs.

    Delete your Tumblr account from your mobile phone (Step 2): Select the blog you'd like to delete

  3. Swipe left on the blog in the iOS app and select "Delete". Select the gear icon (settings) on the Android app and then "Delete this Tumblr".

    Delete your Tumblr account from your mobile phone (Step 3): Swipe left to the delete blog

What happens if you delete your Tumblr account or blog?

You can create several blogs with one Tumblr account. You can delete the entire account or just a few blogs with these simple steps.

Your primary blog and Tumblr account will not be affected if you delete a secondary blog. You can only delete your primary blog by deleting the entire account.. This means you'll be removed from any groups you've joined and lose any Tumblr credit you've earned.

The user email address and blog URL you selected for your Tumblr account will be returned to the pool for usage when you delete it. You can move premium Tumblr blog themes to another blog before removing a blog. However, any premium Tumblr blog themes you've paid for will be deleted.

Summary

Whatever reason you have to delete your Tumblr account, think twice before doing so. Leaving a Tumblr account or blog online without future changes is an option to deleting it. Deleting your Tumblr account is easy. However, you won't be able to retain all the access and data which you had earlier.